About Department

The Department of Mechanical Engineering was founded in 1937 aiming to meet our country’s need for Mechanical Engineers. 4 years after its foundation, the department graduated its first students in 1941. Branch education for specialization carried out for the first time in 1973 in both our university and our country. Since 1973, our department has successfully educated mechanical engineers who can specialize thanks to select courses in specific subjects of Mechanical Engineering. Mechanical Engineering Department includes seven divisions: Division of Hydromechanics and Hydraulic Machines, Division of Construction, Division of Machine Theory-System Dynamics and Control, Division of Machine Materials and Manufacturing Technology, Division of Mechanics, Division of Automotive and Division of Thermodynamics.